Welcome Back, Jim!

2003 Topps 205 Mini Framed Relics #TR-JT, Jim Thome

Welcome back, big guy. I truly didn’t see this one coming. It goes without saying that I want to see the Phillies win the World Series every year, but it would be really nice if the Phillies could win one for him in 2012. It’s always a shame when a Hall of Famer ends his career without playing for a championship club, but Thome is one of the sport’s truly good guys, and windows of opportunity don’t get smaller than his. I almost feel jealous of anyone who still has one of his jerseys or shirts stowed away and doesn’t need to buy one for the upcoming season. Luckily, no one currently on the roster is wearing #25, but I have a feeling that if someone did, an arrangement would have been made.

The really funny thing about the timing (for me) is that I didn’t find out about this until after I put my son to bed. During our bedtime routine, his old Jim Thome beanie baby bear got some attention, as well as a 2009 Fathead Tradeable that’s currently on his wall, just above his bed. I wish I had known about the signing beforehand — I think it would have made the end of the evening far more interesting for him.

Leave a Reply

