Playing With the ’87 Minis

Featured Cards: 2012 Topps 1987 Minis #TM-10, Roy Halladay; 1987 Topps League Leader Minis #29, Juan Samuel; 2012 Topps 1987 Minis #TM-27, Ryan Howard

Over the weekend, I finally received the “Phillies Master Team Set + Insert Cards” I purchased off of eBay and got a good look at the first Phillies cards of 2012. While I generally liked the overall look of the base Topps set, it was the 1987 Minis that really got my attention. However, there was something about them that just didn’t feel right. Then I recalled a post from The Other World a few weeks ago, and it all fell into place.

There’s nothing actually wrong with the 2012 Topps 1987 Minis. Topps did an excellent job of creating them — especially with their use of the appropriate type of cardboard stock. However, it’s just that I think it would have been better if they had instead replicated the 1987 Topps League Leaders Minis instead of doing a mini version of the regular 1987 Topps set. The most obvious reason is, of course, that the new minis are the same size as the League Leader ones from ’87. It’s a minor quibble, but just imagine what the back of the Halladay mini would have looked like if it used the same format as the Samuel card. Samuel was only in the top five of one category in 1986 while Halladay was in the top five in wins, ERA, complete games, innings pitched and strikeouts in 2011.

There was one more 2012 Mini that I just absolutely needed to comment on. I love seeing cards showing players in games in which they wore throwback uniforms, but something felt amiss about Ryan Howard’s card.

Thankfully, I actually possessed software (and more importantly, the minimal level of competence — I cannot overstate my paucity of experience in photo manipulation) which allowed me to make a relatively simple edit to improve upon the overall look of the card.

There. That’s much better.

3 responses to “Playing With the ’87 Minis

  1. At first I thought you just faded the border out like the ’87 set really looks. Then I saw the P.

  2. It looks much nicer with the retro logo.

Leave a Reply

