2012 Topps Phillies Team Set

Set Type: Primary
Card dimensions:
2½” x 3½”
Additional Information/14,000 Phillies Commentary: Issued in a blister pack, Topps released this set after the first series of 2012 Topps and 2012 Topps Opening Day, and before the second series of 2012 Topps. Unfortunately, for the first time since issuing the set in 2006, Topps did not include at least one card containing a photo that differed from the player’s card in the regular Topps set. The photos on the Kendrick and Mayberry, Jr. cards are cropped differently from their cards in the regular Topps set, but only slightly. Unless you absolutely needs a 2012 Topps card showing Citizens Bank Park, you can completely skip this set if you already own a complete 2012 Topps Phillies team set.

PHI1
PHI2
PHI3
PHI4
PHI5
PHI6
PHI7
PHI8
PHI9
PHI10
PHI11
PHI12
PHI13
PHI14
PHI15
PHI16
PHI17
Roy Halladay
Shane Victorino
Kyle Kendrick
Jim Thome
Jimmy Rollins
Cliff Lee
John Mayberry, Jr.
Placido Polanco
Carlos Ruiz
Ryan Howard
Cole Hamels
Hunter Pence
Chase Utley
Joe Blanton
Jonathan Papelbon
Vance Worley
Citizens Bank Park

(Checklist originally posted on April 3, 2012. Additional Information/14,000 Phillies Commentary updated on June 21, 2012.)

4 responses to “2012 Topps Phillies Team Set

  1. Why aren’t Victorino, Rollins, Lee and Utley unique to this set–is it because they are the same pictures used in Opening Day? I hope at least one of the five remaining asterisked cards ends up being a unique card that is not outright copied in Series 2. Most recent years they seem to have had some different poses between this set and the base Topps cards.

    Looks like I will have to swing by my local Wawa to pick up a set of these tomorrow. Thanks for the heads-up (and the checklist).

    • You got it — their pictures are the same ones used in the Opening Day set. I don’t normally mix my Opening Day cards in the binder with the regular Topps issue, so I have my fingers crossed that at least one of the players you mentioned is getting a different photo in the regular Topps set.

      You are right about the different poses usually found in this set — it’s one of the reasons I look forward to grabbing one once it hits the stores.

  2. I have missed a couple years of these somehow–that or I misplaced them. I think I have 2006 (is that the one where a change to “Tom” instead of “Flash” Gordon is the only difference from the base cards?) and 2009 to present, but I couldn’t find my 2007 and 2008 sets recently. Do you happen to know whether there were different photos in either of those (before I go bidding on them on eBay, if they are even there)?

    By the way, I also collect Topps Eagles cards, and they had some variations in the retail team sets as well. Somehow Panini got the deal to issue those last year, so I wasn’t as interested in it.

    The only OD cards I bought this year were the Phanatic and Oswalt, based on your review of the set. Now I’m waiting until Series 2 comes out to order a master Phillies set and work those in there in my binders. And then rearrange them once the U&H set comes out. But I am jumping the gun on the season….

  3. Oh yeah, one more thing–these sets need a better name than “Team Sets”. They are hard to find on eBay or Google searches. Topps should call them “Retail Team Sets” or “Souvenir Sets” or something like that, right on the packaging so the name sticks!

Leave a Reply

