Flea Market Finds

Featured Items: 1971 Arco Phillies (no #), Don Money; Philadelphia Daily News Phillies 1980 World Champions Team Photo

I spent the past weekend with my wife and my step-children over at her parents’ house. While there, we visited a flea market — the first time I had done so since my teens, which means far more years than I am willing to admit here. However, we were out in the middle of the Shenandoah Valley, which may as well be the middle of nowhere as far as I am concerned. So, although I wasn’t really expecting much from the excursion, I liked the idea as it seemed like a nice little diversion for part of the weekend. Besides, even in the middle of nowhere, you don’t know what you might find at such a market.

Even so, I have to admit utter surprise at what I did find: two 1971 Arco Phillies photos (Don Money and Rick Wise) and a Philadelphia Daily News Phillies 1980 World Champions Team Team Photo. Let me repeat something I’ve already stated: we were in the middle of the Shenandoah Valley — approximately 210 miles away from Philadelphia. I would expect to find them at a flea market or yard sale somewhere in the greater Philadelphia metro area, but not in a podunk located in the western fringe of Virginia. The fact that I didn’t already own any of the items I found made their discovery just that much better. Even better still: they were all in EX+ condition and I walked away having paid only $5 for the lot of them. Admittedly, I made a minor negotiating faux pas when I made my offer without even asking what the person at the table was asking for them. Although $5 was less than I was willing to pay, the incredible quickness with which my offer was accepted strongly suggests I probably could have gotten them even cheaper.

I don’t know how long it will be before I mind myself at a flea market again, but my first one in [length of time redacted] certainly turned out quite nicely.

One response to “Flea Market Finds

  1. Nice pickups in the middle of nowhere! Your offer strategy isn’t as bad as mine once was at a flea market. I was with my dad, and I saw two antique-looking globe bookends with a $15 price tag on one. I liked them and asked if they would take $20 for the pair. The couple at the stand looked surprised, and then the husband said, “Sure.”

    After we walked away, my dad (a regular at flea markets) asked me, “Have you ever seen a single bookend for sale?”

    I said, “No, I don’t think so. Why?”

    He asked, “What does the price tag say on the second one?”

    I said, “I don’t see a price tag.”

    He replied, “I imagine that’s because they were asking $15 for the pair, not each.”

    D’ohh!

Leave a Reply

