1966 Topps Rub-Offs

Set Type: Insert
Item dimensions: 2116” x 3”
Additional Information: Inserted in packs of 1966 Topps. The Rub-Offs are unnumbered, so the players are listed in alphabetical order and numbered accordingly. Poor cutting procedures resulted in relatively few well-centered examples from this set. Beckett’s Online Guide incorrectly lists Bill White as Phillie even though he is pictured as and designated with the Cardinals on his rub-off. Beckett also incorrectly places Dick Stuart in the Mets checklist, even though he is depicted and designated with the Phillies on his rub-off. This is likely due to the fact that Beckett based their Rub-Offs checklists off of their team designations in the regular 1966 Topps set.

[3]
[12]
[13]
[82]
[89]
[112]
Dick Allen
Jim Bunning
Johnny Callison
Cookie Rojas
Dick Stuart
Phillies Pennant
2 responses to “1966 Topps Rub-Offs

  1. In 1984 and 1985 Topps did a set like this again called Rub Downs, which I had completely forgotten about until I saw this. It was about the only set my brother, who was 10 at the time, ever collected! I see you can buy a box of the 1984 version on eBay for about $20 including shipping, so not as good an investment, I suppose, as these 1966 versions would have been.

    • I remember the mid ’80s Rub Downs, and I wasn’t a fan. Primarily, I just didn’t like the fact that they were all multi-team in nature, and I’ve harbored a strong dislike for cards like that since I started building a Phillies-only collection. It’s actually been something of a extra chore for me to start adding that type of information to these checklists — until I started posting the checklists online, I never had any desire to compile information on such items before. However, I do understand that not all Phillies collectors are as adverse to multi-team cards as I am.

Leave a Reply

