1989 Topps/LJN Baseball Talk

1989 Topps LJN BB Talk Schmidt Front1989 Topps LJN BB Talk Schmidt Back

Set Type: Primary
Card dimensions: 3¼” x 5¼”
Additional Information/14,000 Phillies Commentary:  Topps worked in conjunction with the LJN Toy Co. to produce this series of “talking” baseball cards that bore what were essentially cheap, mini vinyl records on the back. For more information about the set, check out the Wikipedia entry on the cards and player. Furthermore, to hear a sample of what the cards sounded like, check out the entry from Clyde’s Stale Cards which goes into some additional detail about the set.

Even though I knew about the cards and player when they were released, I did not add any of the Phillies in this set to my collection until nearly a year ago. For no discernible reason, it was never high on my priority list. It certainly didn’t help that I didn’t know whether the cards, which recycled the design of the 1989 Topps set, used new photos or were essentially oversized reprints of the players’ 1989 Topps cards. Even if they used new photos, I didn’t know whether or not the cards were updated to include mid-season trades, and I certainly didn’t want to buy either the Bedrosian or Samuel cards until confirming, at a minimum, that they were pictured/depicted as Phillies. My initial antipathy only increased when discovering the Robin Roberts card before any of the other Phillies in the set and seeing that it just bore a reprint (a rather poor one at that) of his 1952 Topps card. The knowledge caused me to further disregard the set until a few years ago, when I finally saw online scans of the other Phillies in the set and had my questions answered to my satisfaction — yes, all the other Phillies in the set bear photos that differ from their regular Topps card.

Although I have no interest in tracking down a working player to hear what was recorded for the Phillies in this set, I would certainly love to find/hear MP3s for the material on these cards.

40
72
95
147
Robin Roberts
Mike Schmidt
Juan Samuel
Steve Bedrosian
2 responses to “1989 Topps/LJN Baseball Talk

  1. I would love to post MP3s, but my player unceremoniously died. I had collected the entire set back in the day and listened to each of them probably exactly one time each. A couple years ago I broke it out to try to do exactly that–record MP3s–but I was disappointed to see my player had stopped working. I didn’t leave batteries in it, so it wasn’t a battery leak. I’m not sure why it died, but certainly not from overuse.

    Anyway, they were enjoyable to listen to, but I can’t remember any specifics. Lame choice by Topps/LJN on the Robin Roberts card though….

  2. Thanks for the mention. At the bottom of my post on the set and player, I linked to my YouTube Playlist for the cards. I’ve recorded almost 150 of the cards and posted them for all to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

