Opening Day!

2014 Topps OD PhanaticAppropriately, my complete team set of 2014 Topps Opening Day arrived today. Every year the Opening Day set proves just how much nicer the flagship Topp set issue looks without foil, and I once again curse Topps for adhering to some weird self-imposed belief that the regular set must have foil. As I entered the Opening Day cards into my Excel spreadsheets, I noted that I now own 55 different Phanatic cards. Mind you, the Phillies team issued sets over the past 3+ decades are responsible for the bulk of them, but it still boggles my mind that I own more cards of the Phanatic than I do of either Tug McGraw or Bob Boone. In another couple years, assuming he continues to appear in both team-issued sets and in Opening Day Mascots insert sets, he’ll surpass Jamie Moyer, Steve Bedrosian, Garry Maddox, and potentially even Mitch Williams in my collection. However, no matter how many more Phanatic cards I eventually add to the colleciton, I doubt we will see another one as awesome as the one Upper Deck printed in 2009.

Featured card: 2014 Topps Opening Day Mascots #M-13

Leave a Reply

