Topps’s Awesome Job of Handling Roy Halladay’s 2010 Cards

Towards the end of the 2011 season, 2010 Topps Complete Set Halladay FrontI noted that Topps amazingly made sure that each of Roy Halladay’s cards in the 2010 Topps Opening Day, Topps Phillies Team, Topps Chrome, Topps Factory Set Phillies Team Bonus, and Topps Updates & Highlights sets carried different photos. Given Topps’s track record in regards to how it treats these sets, the only card you could’ve reasonably expected to use a different photo was the Factory Set Phillies Team Bonus card. Because of that history, it never occurred to me to check to see if Halladay’s Silk Collection card from Topps Updates & Highlights followed the same pattern. After all, why should it? The Silk Collection parallels always use the same photo.

Or, so I thought.

I was looking through Halladay’s Phillies cards on COMC to fill some holes in my want lists when I stumbled across the Silk Collection parallel from Updates & Highlights, and I paused. Something didn’t feel right — like there was a strange disturbance in The Force. 2010 Silk HalladayRemembering the post from over three years ago, I went back to it and the evidence was irrefutable: his Updates & Highlights Silk Collection card had a different photo from the card used in the main U&H set, and the photo was different from all the others Topps used in the aforementioned sets. I couldn’t believe my eyes; every Silk Collection parallel I had seen up to that point (aside from the special case 2011 John Mayberry, Jr.) and have seen since uses the same photo as the set it was issued with. Someone at Topps that year decided that they were going to use as many different photos as possible with Halladay, and I applaud them for it.

I wish they would do this sort of thing more often so as to insert some joy and reason into collecting all those sets that are little more than derivatives of the flagship set. Until that happens, I’ll attempt to take a closer look at any other Silk Collection cards I see in the future. I don’t expect any more surprises such as this, but I certainly would love to find one.

One response to “Topps’s Awesome Job of Handling Roy Halladay’s 2010 Cards

  1. A little late to the party responding here, but…this is good news. Thanks for the heads-up. Now if I can find one….

Leave a Reply

